Arctic Monkeys – Whatever People Say I Am, That’s What I’m Not

Whatever People Say I Am, That’s What I’m Not is the debut studio album by English rock band Arctic Monkeys, released on 23 January 2006 by Domino Recording Company and on 21 February 2006 in the United States. The album includes both tracks from the band’s original EP, Five Minutes with Arctic Monkeys, as well as their first two singles “I Bet You Look Good on the Dancefloor” and “When the Sun Goes Down”. This is the only Arctic Monkeys album with bassist Andy Nicholson, as he left the band shortly after the album’s release.

The album received widespread critical acclaim from critics for its depiction of youth British Culture and for resurging British indie music that had waned after the 1990s. Among its accolades included being named the best album of 2006 by Time magazine, winning the Brit Award for Best British Album, winning the 2007 Mercury Prize, and receiving a Grammy Award nomination for Best Alternative Music Album. It has been ranked in several greatest albums lists’, including 371 in Rolling Stone’s 500 Greatest Albums of All Time, 19 in NME’s 500 Greatest Albums of All Time, and 30 in Rolling Stone’s 100 Best Debut Albums of All Time.

SKU: 5034202016212 Categories: , , Tag:
This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. By browsing this website, you agree to our use of cookies.